Limber up for city’s first marathon – The Telegraph – The Telegraph

Patna: Every year, more than 650 marathon events are held across the country but not even one in Bihar. That is set to change now as the first edition of the Patna Marathon annual run is all set to take place on December 17, 2017.

The Patna Marathon has been conceptualised by Elamai Enterprises in association with Protons Sports. Elamai Enterprises and Protons Sports are Mumbai- and Bangalore-based private companies, respectively.

“The Patna marathon is approved by Association of International Marathons and Distance Races and the timings recorded will be valid for any other race across the world. This certification will bring PatnaMarathon in the list of world Marathons,” said Dharmendra Kumar, representative of Protons Sports.

Shivnath Singh of Buxar had created the national marathon record in 1978 which is unbroken till today.

District magistrate Sanjay Kumar Agarwal said: “The marathon has a prize money of Rs 10 lakh which will be given in various categories. It is also an initiative to contribute to Bihar flood relief work as 10 per cent of the registration fee will be donated to the chief minister’s relief fund for Bihar flood relief work.”

The marathon will have three categories – 4km (Fun Run), 10km and 21.2km half-marathon. Registrations are compulsory to take part in this run and participants can register themselves online and offline.

Online registration can be done at whereas offline registration can be done at Gold’s Gym (Rajendra Nagar and Boring Road) at also at LBW restaurant at Rajbanshi Nagar.

The registration for the 21.2km half-marathon is Rs 900, for 10km run it is Rs 800 whereas the 4km run will cost Rs 200. The registration fee will include a goodie bag, Patna Marathon T-Shirt and a medal of finishers.

Dharmendra said: “The marathon is being organised in keeping with the global marathon spirit of health and togetherness to bring the people of Bihar together.”

The number of participants are limited in each category. Registrations will close once the number of slots for runners are filled.

The race will start at 6.45am from Gandhi Maidan Gate No. 1 and go via Dakbungalow, Income Tax roundabout, Patna High Court, Bihar Museum, Eco Park, and Raja Bazaar flyover and then return to the same place to finish the race at Gandhi Maidan.

Source Article from

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.