All-weather road cover – The Telegraph

Patna: The cabinet on Saturday decided to expand the Mukhya Mantri Gram Sampark Yojana to 11 integrated action plan districts to ensure all-weather roads in rural habitations with population more than 250.

The districts are Arwal, Aurangabad, Gaya, Jamui, Jehanabad, Kaimur, Munger, Nawada, Rohtas, Sitamarhi and West Champaran. The integrated action plan aims at infrastructure development in tribal and backward districts in Maoist-hit areas.

The rural works department launched the Gram Sampark Yojana in 2013 to connect all rural habitations with population more than 250 with all-weather roads.

Cabinet secretariat’s principal secretary Brijesh Mehrotra said: “The scheme will now cover entire Bihar. In the 11 districts brought under it, 8,926km all-weather roads will be constructed for an estimated Rs 8,200 crore.”

The cabinet approved a rural works department proposal to convert 242 rural roads in Kishanganj district into all-weather roads. Eight bridges will also be built in the district at a total cost of Rs 573 crore.

It increased the financial limit of approvals by various technical and administrative position-holders for panchayati raj department schemes, approved the release of Rs 50 crore for infrastructure development at places connected to the Champaran Satyagraha centenary celebrations, constituted the Patna Park Division under the environment and forests department to maintain 100 parks developed since 2006, and sanctioned Rs 300 crore from the Bihar contingency fund to repair and reconstruct embankments, barrages, canals destroyed in this year’s floods.

Source Article from

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.